Lovely climatic resort located on the eastern shore of Lake Como.
On the small square there is the parish Church of San Lorenzo. From the Church you may walk on the left on the new “footway of the small convent” and on the right on the promenade, on which there is the old dock and boarding pier. At the end of the promenade there is the park of “Chiesa rotta”, an area equipped as a playground and shore.
In the town centre you may visit the “Civic Museum of the Monti Silk Factory”. It is set in an ancient spinning room and offers the visitor the environment and the original machinery of a a silk yarns factory of the second half of 800, including the monumental round wooden twister with 972 spindles, 5 mt large and 11 mt high, placed on 4 working levels and completely operational.
A few steps from the Museum there is the International Music Academy “Antonio Ghislanzoni” located in the “Filandina”, a small spinning factory built in 1800 for the manufacture of silk and now used as an extremely evocative art-studio. Here they organize Master for singers who wish to deepen their repertoire with the support of worldwide known teachers.
The Wayfarer’s Path
The path runs along the eastern shore of Lake Lecco and links several trails halfway up, down the hill that once connected among them the built-up areas. As we travel today, we find the signs of life of longtime ago: the terraced, cultivated fields, the cottages, the small churches. The wayfarer’s path can be covered in any season and is indicated by special orange signposts located along the whole route. It currently starts from the Church of San Martino, crosses the whole country from the south to the north and arrives in Colico. During the way you can admire peculiar and typical landmarks of the country as well as panoramic views on Grignetta mountain.
The Waterfall in the “Monastero” Valley
The path starts from the Town Hall of Abbadia and is indicated by red-blue signposts. After about an hour and a half walk you’ll reach the path leading to the waterfall, a powerful fall of about 50.mt. that roars overhanging, and impressive rocks molded into sculptural shapes
The Pian Resinelli
Is an extensive plateau nestled in an expanse of lawns gently sloping down the Monastero valley. They are the ideal place for quiet vacation as well as a famous climbing centre thanks to Mount Grignetta, one of the most beautiful, natural practice walls in Italy.
TO BE VISITED
Varenna and the Castle of Vezio
Ancient fishing village, fascinating and charming, Varenna is divided into a grid of lanes steeply descending towards the lake. A romantic walkway opens up to a view over suggestive panoramic stretches. Located exactly in the middle of the eastern coast of Lake Como, opposite Bellagio, Varenna is the ideal starting point for excursions into the mid lake.
Overlooking Varenna stands the Castle of Vezio, an ancient fortress dipped in a century old olive wood that may be reached by car or on foot along a mule track. In the garden you may meet the “Castle’s Falconer”, dressed in period clothing, who will show tourists the birds of prey of the Castle: owls, buzzards, falcons and more, exhibiting on Saturday and Sunday afternoons in spectacular flights.
An interesting excursion is the one to the nearby village of Fiumelatte. This small group of houses derives its name from the shortest river in Italy and probably in the whole world: from the source to the mouth just 250 mt of white and foamy water. We suggest to walk the path leading from the cemetery of Varenna to the springs of Fiumelatte passing by the “Baluardo” (= Bulkwark), an evocative view point over the lake beneath.
Bellagio is one of the most beautiful resorts not only of Lake Como, but in the whole world, loved and visited by artists and writers of all times. Called the “Pearl of Lake Como, its beauty is first of all panoramic, in fact Bellagio is located in a very particular position: on the tip of the promontory that divides the lake into two branches. The site offers a fascinating overview: on one side the deep blue of the lake and its shores, on the other one the green of the promontory.
Mandello del Lario, MOTO GUZZI Museum
In the nearby small town named Mandello del Lario the legendary Moto Guzzi was born, and you shouldn’t miss a visit to the great Historical Museum. Motorcyclists from all over the world get there on a pilgrimage. The Moto Guzzi Museum is located in the heart of the historic factory that has seen the birth of the Eagle myth in 1921. The Museum is open from Monday to Friday from 3.00 – 4.00pm – Free entrance
THE LAKE VILLAS
Villa Carlotta, Tremezzo
It is a place of rare beauty, where masterpieces of nature and art live together in perfect harmony in over 70.000 sq metres of gardens and museum. The Villa was built at the end of the 17th century in a natural basin between lake and mountains, facing the Grigne mountains and the peninsula of Bellagio
Villa Balbianello, Lenno
Built in the late 18th century, the Villa rises up on a breathtaking sheer promontory above Lake Como, almost opposite Bellagio. The real masterpiece of the Villa is its panoramic, terraced garden dominated by the elegant three-arcades loggia which stands on the highest point of the promontory.
Villa Monastero, Varenna
Once female convent of Holy Mary and converted between 600 and 800 into a patrician residence, the Villa is nowadays famous all over the world as a scientific, administrative and cultural Conference Centre. Walking through its botanic garden, over one km long, you may admire exotic plants, statues, small temples and balustrades.
Villa Cipressi, Varenna
Its gorgeous botanic garden covers more levels and offers a breathtaking view over the mid lake. The Villa is now used as a hotel, the gardens are open to the public from March 9.00am-9.00pm and are closed during the winter months.
Villa Serbelloni, Bellagio
Extends on the promontory of Bellagio. Built in 1605, towards the end of the 19th century the villa was converted into a hotel and since 1959 it has belonged to the Rockfeller Cultural Foundation of New York who organizes meetings and study encounters. The halls are rich in decoration and precious works of art and its park, with 18 km of paths and trails, is considered one of the most beautiful parks in Italy. Only the park is open to the public from April to early November every day excepted on Mondays and in case of bad weather.
Villa Melzi, Bellagio
Among the most famous villas of the lake, the Villa was built between 1808 and 1810 in Neoclassical style as a summer residence. It is entirely surrounded by a wonderful English garden that stretches down to the lake. The inside of the villa, merely Neoclassical, preserves valuable works of art.
The villa is not open to the public but it is possible to visit its park.